Upcoming Public Hearings on Line 3

These hearings are opportunities for landowners and concerned citizens to speak out against pipeline abandonment and in favor of pipe- line cleanup by removal. The hearings are:

  • Tuesday October 10, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m.), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m.) IRA Civic Center 1401 NW 3rd Avenue, Grand Rapids
  • Wednesday October 11, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m. ), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m. )East Lake Community Center 36666 State Hwy 65 ,McGregor
  • Thursday October 12, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m.), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m. )Grand Casino Hinckley 777 Lady Luck Drive ,Hinckley
  • Tuesday October 17, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m.), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m.) Sanford Center 1111 Event Center Drive NE, Bemidji
  • Wednesday October 18, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m. ), (6:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m. )Duluth Entertainment Convention Center 350 Harbor Drive, Duluth, MN
  • Wednesday October 25, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m. ), (6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.)Cross Lake Community Center 14126 Daggett Pine Rd. Cross Lake
  • Thursday October 26, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m.), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m. )River’s Edge Convention Center 10 Fourth Avenue S., St. Cloud

Find us on Facebook

Landowner Donna Krueger of Swan River speaks to KBJR about pipeline removal and property rights - Click here to read the article.

If you are unable to attend the hearings, you can still submit comments in the following ways:

  • Email: publicadvisor.puc@state.mn.us
  • Mail: Scott Ek, Minnesota Public Utilities Commission, 121 7th Place East, Suite 350, St. Paul, MN 55101
  • Online: mn.gov/puc/line3/participate/comment

Please include the Commission's Docket Numbers and OAH Docket Numbers in the subject line of all communications:

  • Certificate of Need: Commission Docket 14-916, and OAH Docket 65-2500-32764
  • Route: Commission Docket 15-137 and OAH Docket 65-2500-33377

Contact your County Commissioners and tell them to protect property rights and create good jobs by removing old Line 3!

 

County Name   Phone Alt Phone Alt Phone Email
Itasca David Tinquist 1 218-327-2847 218-327-7341 218-999-7157 david.tinquist@co.itasca.mn.us
Itasca Terry Snyder 2 218-327-2847     terry.snyder@co.itasca.mn.us
Itasca Leo Trunt 3 218-327-2847 ext.1360     leo.trunt@co.itasca.mn.us
Itasca Burl Ives 4 218-529-1279     burl.ives@co.itasca.mn.us
Itasca Mark Mandich 5 218-245-1547     mmandich@afsme65.org
Atkin Mark Wedel 1 218-927-6500 218-838-9324   mark.wedel@co.aitkin.mn.us
Aitkin Laurie Westerlund 2 320-684-2652     laurie.westerlund@co.aitkin.mn.us
Aitkin Donald Niemi 3 218-927-9947     don.niemi@co.aitkin.mn.us
Aitkin Bill Pratt 4 218-330-1759     bill.pratt@co.aitkin.mn.us
Aitkin Anne Marcotte 5 218-256-0277     anne.marcotte@co.aitkin.mn.us
Carlton Dick Brenner 1 218-879-5572     dick.brenner@co.carlton.mn.us
Carlton Marv Bodie 2 218-879-2085     mbodie@cpinternet.com
Carlton Thomas Proulx 3 218-348-4288     thomas.proulx@co.carlton.mn.us
Carlton Susan Zymslony 4 218-380-2170     susan.zymslony@co.carlton.mn.us
Carlton Gary Peterson 5 218-380-4949     gep1353@live.com
St. Louis Frank Jewell 1 218-726-2450     jewellf@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Patrick Boyle 2 218-726-2359     boylep@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Beth Olson 3 218-726-2562     olsonb1@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Tom Rukavina 4 218-365-8200     rukavinat@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Pete Stauber 5 218-726-2450     stauberp@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Keith Nelson 6 218-749-7108     nelsonk@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Mike Jugovich 7 218-262-0201     jugovichm@stlouiscountymn.gov
Beltrami Keith Winger 1 218-759-0035     kwinger17@outlook.com
Beltrami Reed Olson 2 218-766-0383     reedjolson@gmail.com
Beltrami Richard Anderson 3 218-467-3275     richard@paulbunyan.net
Beltrami Tim Sumner 4 218-407-7589     timsumner15@gmail.com
Beltrami Jim Luachik 5 218-586-3523     lukmar@paulbunyan.net
Line 3 Pipeline Abandonment What You Need To Know

Enbridge Energy has proposed to shut down and abandon its Line 3 crude oil pipeline, without addressing soil and water contamination or removing the pipe. This would pass on an enormous financial liability to landowners along the line, and to our children and grandchildren. The State of Minnesota has no plan to deal with this dangerous situation or to protect landowners from that liability. But community members across the north are coming together to demand that the State of Minnesota take action, so that individuals do not have to face this alone. Enbridge has a responsibility to put hard working Minnesotans to work cleaning up its mess. Our property rights, land, and fresh water are at stake.

DEATH OF A PIPELINE:
Line 3 is one of 6 pipelines in Enbridge’s Main-line system. It ships tar sands crude oil from Alberta to Superior, WI, crossing Northern Minnesota for 300 miles. Line 3 was built in l96l and is now at the end of its life. According to Enbridge data, it currently has over 900 “structural integrity anomalies,” including corrosion and long seam cracking. As a result, it has experienced a number of failures during its 55 years of history. Enbridge is now operating the line at reduced volumes and pressures, to reduce the chances of a catastrophic rupture. Fixing these “anomalies” is very expensive, so Enbridge wants to decommission and abandon the pipeline, walk away, and build a new one in a new corridor.

RISK AND LIABILITY:
The pipeline likely has many sites of contaminated soil and water around it already, from old leaks and spills. There is likely also contamination from residual oil, lubricants, treatment chemicals, and pipeline coatings. When discovered, this could become the responsibility of landowners. And as it corrodes, the pipe will eventually become a water conduit that could easily drain a wetland or small lake, or flood a farm field.

NEED FOR REGULATION:
The US has vague, inadequate laws on pipeline abandonment, so the responsibility to protect landowners rests with the states. However, Minnesota has no abandonment regulations. The MN Public Utilities Commission does have the authority to regulate abandonment as part of the new Line 3 permitting process, but they will only do so if landowners demand it. Otherwise, if Enbridge is not required to remove the pipeline and restore the damaged ecosystems, there may never be a full accounting of the existing and future contamination. And this has never happened before in Minnesota, so if approved, it could set dangerous precedent that would then allow Enbridge to abandon the other 3 ancient pipelines in its Mainline corridor. In contrast, the National Energy Board of Canada thoroughly regulates all aspects of pipeline abandonment, and has ordered Enbridge to set aside nearly $1 billion to pay for future removals and cleanups. Minnesota could do the same, and that is an investment we deserve too.

WHAT CAN YOU DO?

  • Visit our website (www.pipelinecleanupmn.org) and contact us for more info and support
  • Voice your concerns to your elected officials, especially Governor Dayton (651-201-3400)
  • Join other landowners intervening in the MN Public Utilities Commission permit process for the new Line 3
  • Talk to your neighbors, church groups, lake associations, etc.
  • Write an op-ed in your local paper