WHO WE ARE:

Minnesotans for Pipeline Cleanup are landowners and citizens concerned about the liabilities of abandoning Enbridge’s old Line 3 oil pipeline.

OUR POSITION:

  • Corporate Responsibility - Enbridge should remove and remediate contamination, and prevent liability to landowners.
  • Property Rights - Landowners should have a choice whether to remove or abandon the pipe on their land.
  • Economic Development - Cleanup and removal, where appropriate, will create many jobs, and union workers should get them.

Abandonment vs. Cleanup: By the Numbers

  • 282 - Miles proposed by Enbridge to be abandoned in Minnesota
  • 178 - Miles out of the 282 Line 3 miles that have either a single pipeline on one side of it or no pipeline and, therefore, could be removed easily $1.28 billion - estimated cost of removal, a potential investment in our communities
  • 25% - approximate percentage that would be for labor
  • 8290 - estimated number of Minnesota jobs from removing Line 3
  • 3 - the number of additional pipelines of similar age that Enbridge will want to abandon soon (Lines 1, 2, and 4)

*All Estimates Are Based on Enbridge's Data

What Landowners are saying:

"I want it out of the ground, period. Get it out. Clean it up. Remove it. Why aren't our opin- ions anywhere in their analysis? ... I'm this lit- tle guy here here. They're big with all the rights. What they want they get. ... They should respect the landowners' rights."
— Landowner James Hietala of Warba

“If Line 3 is not removed...it is generally ex- pected that Cities and its residents are re- sponsible for the clean-up. Since Line 3 runs directly through our Well Head Protection Ar- ea (WHPA), which is the sole source of munic- ipal water for two cities (Grand Rapids and LaPrairie), the City is requesting that you re- quire the total removal of Line 3 within the WHPA. In addition, the City requests that any contaminated soils within the WHPA be re- moved. Lastly, we request that Line 3 be re- moved in any urban developed areas.”
— Grand Rapids City Council

“If they can put a new line in right next to the old one, why can’t they take the old one out?”
— Landowner Donna Krueger of Swan River

Public Hearings on Line 3

These hearings are opportunities for landowners and concerned citizens to speak out against pipeline abandonment and in favor of pipe- line cleanup by removal. The hearings are:

  • Tuesday October 10, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m.), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m.) IRA Civic Center 1401 NW 3rd Avenue, Grand Rapids
  • Wednesday October 11, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m. ), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m. )East Lake Community Center 36666 State Hwy 65 ,McGregor
  • Thursday October 12, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m.), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m. )Grand Casino Hinckley 777 Lady Luck Drive ,Hinckley
  • Tuesday October 17, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m.), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m.) Sanford Center 1111 Event Center Drive NE, Bemidji
  • Wednesday October 18, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m. ), (6:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m. )Duluth Entertainment Convention Center 350 Harbor Drive, Duluth, MN
  • Wednesday October 25, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m. ), (6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.)Cross Lake Community Center 14126 Daggett Pine Rd. Cross Lake
  • Thursday October 26, 2017 (1:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m.), (6:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m. )River’s Edge Convention Center 10 Fourth Avenue S., St. Cloud
County Name   Phone Alt Phone Alt Phone Email
Itasca David Tinquist 1 218-327-2847 218-327-7341 218-999-7157 david.tinquist@co.itasca.mn.us
Itasca Terry Snyder 2 218-327-2847     terry.snyder@co.itasca.mn.us
Itasca Leo Trunt 3 218-327-2847 ext.1360     leo.trunt@co.itasca.mn.us
Itasca Burl Ives 4 218-529-1279     burl.ives@co.itasca.mn.us
Itasca Mark Mandich 5 218-245-1547     mmandich@afsme65.org
Atkin Mark Wedel 1 218-927-6500 218-838-9324   mark.wedel@co.aitkin.mn.us
Aitkin Laurie Westerlund 2 320-684-2652     laurie.westerlund@co.aitkin.mn.us
Aitkin Donald Niemi 3 218-927-9947     don.niemi@co.aitkin.mn.us
Aitkin Bill Pratt 4 218-330-1759     bill.pratt@co.aitkin.mn.us
Aitkin Anne Marcotte 5 218-256-0277     anne.marcotte@co.aitkin.mn.us
Carlton Dick Brenner 1 218-879-5572     dick.brenner@co.carlton.mn.us
Carlton Marv Bodie 2 218-879-2085     mbodie@cpinternet.com
Carlton Thomas Proulx 3 218-348-4288     thomas.proulx@co.carlton.mn.us
Carlton Susan Zymslony 4 218-380-2170     susan.zymslony@co.carlton.mn.us
Carlton Gary Peterson 5 218-380-4949     gep1353@live.com
St. Louis Frank Jewell 1 218-726-2450     jewellf@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Patrick Boyle 2 218-726-2359     boylep@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Beth Olson 3 218-726-2562     olsonb1@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Tom Rukavina 4 218-365-8200     rukavinat@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Pete Stauber 5 218-726-2450     stauberp@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Keith Nelson 6 218-749-7108     nelsonk@stlouiscountymn.gov
St. Louis Mike Jugovich 7 218-262-0201     jugovichm@stlouiscountymn.gov
Beltrami Keith Winger 1 218-759-0035     kwinger17@outlook.com
Beltrami Reed Olson 2 218-766-0383     reedjolson@gmail.com
Beltrami Richard Anderson 3 218-467-3275     richard@paulbunyan.net
Beltrami Tim Sumner 4 218-407-7589     timsumner15@gmail.com
Beltrami Jim Luachik 5 218-586-3523     lukmar@paulbunyan.net